Coughin’, Slothin’ and Life Plottin’

tumblr_ny9sdnfuqh1ts1jj0o1_1280

Well hello there!

I thought that I would start my blog today by letting out a few complaints, to tell you the snotty truth.

UUUUUUGGGGGGGHHHHHHH… I’m thinking as I sit here writing this. These past few weeks have been very sloth like – slow and steady, not ever quite winning the race. Mix that with some snot and a few dozen (ok, a few thousand) kleenex boxes and BAM, you’ve earned yourself some dang good bellyaching rights and maybe even a brownie, if you can taste it of course. It was almost inevitable that sickness would say hello and overstay it’s welcome, but I’ve asked for it to take it’s kleenex box and hit the garbage can.

Harsh, but it got the hint 😉

A few posts ago, I mentioned how I was just starting my first year at University and I realized I haven’t really updated any of you readers, if any out there, about how it’s been going. Not going to lie, it’s been a rough couple of weeks getting serious about the ins and outs of school, but between my professors and the one and only God, I am more and more amazed each day.

When I first accepted my offer in August, I immediately thought of going to staples to buy one of those buttons that overly confidently says, “that was easy”. Really, it all happened so quickly and so simply that I almost convinced myself that it would be easy. With just 7 weeks in, it registered in my brain that, boy, this was not easy. Heck, it was far from that.

Never, I repeat, NEVER… stop praying after what you think you’ve been waiting for has been answered. The entire process of school felt like it had been handed to me and in a way, technically, it had. My acceptance into this University was very, very strange. I hardly call what happened “applying” because I quite literally wrote on a piece of paper that I accepted the offer to go to this school. The timing was perfect – course selection was open for one more day, I saved a boatload on tuition and I received the amazing gift of starting at the University I always walked by and admired.

Though I looked forward to my year ahead, I knew I had to take it slow. Every day was going to be a battle in my head – trying to figure it all out but also trusting God with each moment. I found it difficult to walk into this place: new people, trying to find quiet spots on a busy campus, having the worst possibly timed brain farts and still trying to find the time to love yourself the way God loves you, a little more everyday.

Getting settled into my classes, I knew I wanted to become part of not only a new church, but a christian group at school. First year university, in my eyes, so I thought… could happen in three ways.

  1. Figure it out. Find anyone who will be your friend.
  2. Don’t make ANY friends – JUST GET THE WORK DONE!
  3. Let God take control, He is the one that got you here, is He not?

You’d think “okay Lizzie… obviously it’s the third one”… laugh out loud… I thought it was that obvious too! Unfortunately, I walked in with the second mindset. I thanked God for turning the page, even though I felt I needed to re-read the last few pages before starting a new chapter to fully understand, but I stopped praying.

Walking into Power to Change one Friday night (more like ran – I was an hour late), I began to feel the workload dissipate. I’m not just talking paper, books and brain farts, but the workload of life. I looked back at how right THIS moment was for me to start school, even though I felt like an old geezer starting my first year. I began to realize how my prayer life needed a refresher and it needed to be unlimited – no prayer is too little and there is never a time where we need to stop because we believe we’re in a good spot.

Lately, I’ve been inspired by the quote that reads,

“In my deepest, darkest moments, what really got me through was a prayer. Sometimes my prayer was ‘Help me.’ Sometimes a prayer was ‘Thank you.’ What I’ve discovered is that intimate connection and communication with my creator will always get me through because I know my support, my help, is just a prayer away.”

– Iyanla Vanzant

It reminds me that even when you get sick, overly confident, unmotivated and lonely, much like a best friend, God is just a prayer away. My challenge for you this week, whatever moment, is to take a minute to look around you and pray. The prayer life never ends!

Have a wonderful week,

Lizzie

Leave a Reply

