Putting Life Into Drive

Throughout my whole life I’ve loved going on long drives down country roads and listening to feel-good, mood changing and ‘in the moment’ music. Am I the only one? Apparently not, says my favourite country station 106.7 – with your windows down, music playing and good company (in my case, my good companion – coffee from timmies) is one of many joyful pleasures people do when the weather gets more radiant.

I find that when I am on this joy ride, it isn’t necessarily pure joy, but rather a sense of fantastic and utter happiness because of a good circumstance I am currently embracing. My emotions get the best of me and I feel that this is the best way to disconnect from the world for a little while. Does this sound familiar to you?

Although these sound like great things, what happens when the joy ride is over? Do we connect back with the same old pattern of the world around us? I believe that sometimes these happy moments are actually perfect moments to renew our mind, whatever our emotions may be telling us in a state of happiness. As followers, we don’t live from the outside in, but rather we live from the inside out and that shines from our hearts and minds.

Okay… okay… are we still on the same page here? I’m sorry if I lost you in my ramble about a simple car ride, but it means so much more to me. It is said that the mind of Christ is a sound mind. But where do we begin? The mind – our thoughts, meditations and day dreams (not just on long drives). While reading my devotions, I read Romans 12:2 which says, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – His good, pleasing and perfect will.” Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying a drive down a dirt road will immediately renew your mind – any kind of change takes time!

Why do we need a renewed mind? It’s just like I mentioned in my first post, trimming the fat means keeping whats good and getting rid of the unnecessary.

Renewing our minds will bring JOY and not just the temporary happiness that the simple, soon to be over, car ride brings. How amazing would it be to feel that same happiness we feel on our drive every single day? He is the driver in our life that leads us into a place of deep fulfillment, purpose and peace. That continuous happiness and desire to “do more” we are able to grasp, is joy in disguise – whatever the circumstance. A big reminder I have to tell myself is that our minds become renewed when they line up with His. It’s still in the process for me, but the more I secure taking time to be with my thoughts and not relying on things of the world and the happiness it claims to offer, the more I realize I can only be satisfied by the renewal of God – our shepherd. What a wonderful feeling, huh?

A challenge for you this week is to try making a shift in gear. One thing I’ve been trying to do is head to bed earlier and wake up earlier so I can spend more time in the word and have something to encourage me throughout an unpredictable day. Just as a day can be held with mystery, so can our mind. You will be surprised what a renewing of your mind can do to your everyday adventures.

Safe drives… 😉

Lizzie

Leave a Reply

